But today, I am going to prove to you - beyond any shadow of a doubt - that powerful business to consumer (B2C) or business to business (B2B) copywriting is more important than traffic when it comes to increasing the revenues generated by your online marketing.
Many websites owners just want to increase their visitor count. So, their entire marketing budget is dumped on PPC, rented email lists or SEO.
Then, they hire a cut rate copywriter, who pukes out hundreds of articles as $5 pop… Or landing pages for $197…
Many written by someone who barely speaks English, and can’t communicate a single coherent thought.
Well, in just a couple of minutes, you are no longer going to have any doubt that this is the wrong approach…
You are going to see what a difference powerful b2b copywriting can make to your lead generation efforts…
And you are going to know the one secret to a successful website that traffic companies don’t want you to hear.
To prove to you the power of great business to business copywriting, we need to use some numbers. And there is going to be some math involved. But I promise to keep it simple.
Because I want to really drive home the point about good copy, I am being extra generous on the ROI for traffic techniques. And I am being conservative as to what’s possible with powerful, results orientated copywriting.
Let’s get started.
First, let’s make some assumptions we will use as a baseline.
- Your sales team closes 1% of all leads your website generates
- The lifetime value of a customer is $10,000.00
- Your lead generation page gets 10,000 hits (this can be a month, a year, or whatever. For this example it doesn’t matter)
- Your lead generation page converts 10% of visitors to leads. This is extremely high for bad copy. 1% is more likely.
- Visits – Number of visitors to a site
- VtL% – Visitors to Leads conversion rate
- LtS% - Leads to Customer / Sales conversion rate
- LVC – Lifetime value of a customer
- Revenue – The sales revenue for a promotion
Visits x VtL% x LtS% x LVC = Revenue
10000 x 10% x 1% x $10,000.00 = $100,000.00
See, I told you - really easy math.
For our “baseline”, we’ll say your company has $100,000.00 in revenue.
Now, let’s look at ROI of various visitor techniques, and then finally what good copy can do for you.
PPC ($2000 Budget)
PPC or Pay Per Click advertising is one of the fastest ways to increase traffic to your site. You pick a budget and some keywords, and the next day your traffic increases.
- Budget: $2000.00
- Cost Per Click: $2.00
Using these realistic numbers, you will get an extra 1,000 visitors to your site. For a total of 11,000 visitors.
11000 x 10% x 1% x $10,000.00 = $110,000.00
This means you are getting an extra $10,000.00 in revenue for a $2,000.00 investment. Not bad.
Sample ROI on PPC Advertising: 500%
Rented Email List ($1500.00 Budget)
Another quick way to get new eye balls on your offer is by renting an email list. In this case, you are sending a promotion to a group of subscribers on someone else’s list.
I really like rented lists as a way to get some fast traffic. It’s also a marketing method where good copywriting matters. In many cases I prefer rented lists to PPC.
For this example, we are not going to make any assumptions on the copy for the email itself.
I recently evaluated a rented list for a client. I am using their published prices. The company’s statistics show a 9% open rate. But I am using 10% since it is an easy number to work with. And, because once again I am being “extra” giving on the ROI of the traffic techniques.
- Budget: $1,500.00
- List Size (Number of Emails Sent): 100,000
- Open Ratio (number of emails opened): 10%
- Click Through Ratio (number of opened emails that lead to a click to the landing page): 10%
Using those assumptions we can easily see that the rented email list results in an extra 1000 visitors to your site, the same as PPC.
100000 x 10% x 10% = 1000
In this example, the revenues are the same as the PPC example, but the investment is less.
11000 x 10% x 1% x $10000 = $110,000
Sample ROI on Rented List: 667%
SEO (Budget $6,000.00)
Calculating the ROI of SEO is much more difficult because of all of the many factors involved. It also takes much longer to see results than with the other traffic methods.
Today, I am using a $6,000.00 budget. And assuming a 50% increase in traffic. Getting a 50% increase in traffic is going to take several months. And will probably cost more than $6,000.00. But, I am being optimistic.
- Budget: $6,000.00
- Traffic Increase: 50% (15,000 Visitors)
Our formula looks like this
15000 x 10 x 1% x $10,000.00 = $150,000.00
Now we are talking, an extra $50,000.00!
Sample ROI on SEO: 833%
Increased Conversions through Powerful B2C and B2B Copywriting
This is where the rubber meets the road… And I need to prove to you that good, powerful, and results orientated copy beats all other traffic methods combined. Let’s assume that good copy increases your leads to 20%. That’s not unreasonable.
Realistic numbers would be:
- Bad copy 1%
- Good copy 15 – 20%. Even as high as 35 – 50%, depending on your offer.
I am using a budget of $4,000.00 for a new landing page. This is a little high, but realistic. Landing pages start at about $1,500.00 for text based… To $3,500.00 for a video landing page.
- Budget: $4,000.00
- New Conversion Rate: 20%
Using the new conversion rate:
10000 x 20% x 1% x $10000.00 = $200,000!
Sample ROI from a Great B2C or B2B copywriter: 2500%
As you can clearly see, your ROI is much higher by focusing on conversion rates. This numbers are fictitious, and every situation is different. But overall, they are all pretty realistic.
Of course traffic is vital. And, you should do everything in your power to increase it as much as you can.
But dumping your entire marketing budget into PPC, SEO and rented email lists, could be is hurting your business.
Stop wasting your money on cheap articles, content and landing pages. And work with a b2b copywriter who knows how to make the words on your page turn your readers into hot leads and / or sales.
Do you have a landing page that isn’t converting well for you? Or, a brochure website that doesn’t have a good lead generating landing page at all? Are you ready to start turning your existing site visitors into hot, sales ready leads?
Let me take a look at your landing page or content pages and give you recommendations for improvements.
Or, if your brochure website isn’t working for you at all, let’s discuss converting it into a direct response lead generation magnet.
Fill out the form below and I will be in contact with you with more details.